Weekend Update

20 Aug

Happy Tuesday! Friday was my last day of work, so I have this entire week off before I head back to school to finish up my Master’s. It is so nice to have a few days to run errands, spend time with Lily, and get in some longer workouts. I’m leaving on Monday after Ryan and I go to Denver this weekend, and I’m not looking forward to it :(. It’s going to be hard to leave Ryan and Lily, but it’s only four months, and then I’m back for good!

But after work on Friday, Ryan and I went to my cousin’s house for a cookout. I brought a pistachio cake for dessert, and I loved it! Ryan was a little weary because it was green, but he liked it which is good enough for me! Here’s a link to the recipe –> http://www.skinnymom.com/2013/05/12/skinny-pistachio-cake/

After the cookout, I woke up early Saturday morning to head to Chicago to go to a Rascal Flatts concert with my best friend Sarah. I got to the city around 10:15am and had a quick bagel breakfast with one of my other best friends from high school, Madeline. Madeline is a tax accountant, so unfortunately, she had to work all weekend, but it was really nice to see her even if it was only for 20 minutes. I headed to Sarah’s apartment around 11, and we spent the rest of the day walking around Chicago and shopping. At 4pm we headed to her friend’s apartment to meet up with the rest of our group. A girl in our group arranged to have a big SUV limo take us to the concert since we had a lot of people, and the venue was almost an hour away. We all brought some appetizers and drinks to enjoy in the car on the way, and I had a good time getting to know some of them. Sarah and I had a blast watching Rascal Flatts (it was my 4th time seeing them!) and just catching up. I miss her!

Image

I woke up super early Sunday morning because my sister was having a birthday party for my niece in the afternoon. So I left Chicago, picked up Ryan at home, and we drove almost three hours to the party. It made for a long day in the car, but I wouldn’t have missed the party for anything. Especially when my niece cracked open the pinata, and 15 kids went diving headfirst onto the ground to get the candy.

Image

Ryan and I drove back home and got back around 8pm. We stopped at Bar Louie for a late dinner, and I loved every bite of my meal. I got the turkey, ham, and brie sandwich, and it was delicious. The sandwich also had jelly and lettuce on it, which made it even better. I love the combination of cheese and jelly, especially brie. We went to bed early, and when I woke up yesterday morning, I was so excited about the fact that I didn’t have anything I had to do all day.

I started the day with a 2.5 mile walk with the pup, and then I tackled a 7 mile run afterwards (a PR for me!). I finished the 7 miles in 58 minutes and 16 seconds, which is a 8:19 pace. My right knee started to hurt a little bit around mile 5, so I’m definitely going to need to pay attention to that. I think I may need new running shoes, but I hate spending so much money on them even though it’s definitely worth it. My running shoe of choice is Mizuno Waveriders, and they are amazing. I would recommend them to everyone. But recently I’ve heard a lot about Reebok’s One Cushion Series, and I’m debating about whether I should try something new or not. We’ll see!

Leave a Reply

