Blueberry Protein Pancakes

20 Aug

I actually slept in a little bit longer today than I thought I would since I’m so used to getting up early. I woke up around 8:15am and was starving. I couldn’t decide what I wanted until I read Julie’s blog (www.pbfingers.com) and saw that she had pancakes. I love using her pancake recipes, but I had extra time this morning, so I made up my own.

Blueberry Protein Pancakes (this is for ONE serving)

1/4 c. rolled oats

1/4 c. whole wheat flour

1/4 c. milk (I used almond coconut milk)

1 egg white

1 tbsp. of honey

cinnamon (as much as you like…. I tend to be heavy-handed when I use cinnamon)

1 tbsp. of peanut butter or a nut butter of your choice (this is optional)

As many fresh blueberries as you’d like! I think these would also be good with a banana mashed in

Mix all the ingredients together in a medium bowl. Pour contents onto hot skillet. Makes 2-3 pancakes

I love pancakes. They always feel like such a treat when I eat them because I usually only make them on Saturday or Sunday mornings. I especially love to use oats/whole wheat flour in them along with some peanut butter to give them some staying power. I could eat 10 normal pancakes and feel full for about 10 minutes, but these kept me full until lunch!

Image

After breakfast Lily and I went on a 2.5 mile walk. Even though it was only 9:30 or so, it was super humid, so Lily kept running in front of all the sprinklers to cool off. It would be really cute if it didn’t involve her yanking me over with her to stand in strangers’ yards. But after our walk I dropped her off at home and set out to do a long interval run. I am a huge fan of intervals because they are effective without consuming a lot of time. Since I’m not working this week, I set out to do a longer interval run to work on my mile speed. My workout looked like this:

1 mile run

2 minute walk

Repeat 5 times

In the end, I looked like this:

Image

I ended up running 5 miles and walking .70 in between, so in 50 minutes I covered 5.7 miles. Paired with my 2.5 miles of walking with Lily, I did about 8.2 miles of cardio, and I was spent (hence why I’m laying on the floor looking like a sweaty mess). I finished my workout with 25 lunges (each leg), 20 plank toe taps, and 20 push-ups (girly-version, duh). It felt good!

Tonight is trivia night at our favorite bar, so Ryan and I are excited to go out and have some fun! Have a good evening!

Leave a Reply

