What I Ate Wednesday

15 Aug

The week is almost over! As soon as Thursday hits I’m a happy girl. Only two more days until the weekend!

I’ve noticed that a lot of bloggers do What I Ate Wednesday, and even though I plan on documenting a lot of what I eat, I think WIAW will be a good way to keep myself accountable for an entire day. So here we go:

Breakfast: For breakfast I wasn’t really feeling anything special, so I had a bowl of Honey Nut Cheerios with almond coconut milk and a bunch of blueberries. (Sidenote: can anyone really eat only one serving of cereal?!)

Snack: A nectarine!

Lunch: A green monster smoothie I made with vanilla greek yogurt, 1 frozen banana, 1 tbsp of natural peanut butter, a few cups of fresh spinach, and a little bit of Cocoa Via powder. Oh, and some water to get everything moving in the blender. Smoothies are the best. I think I have a smoothie for lunch 3 times a week.

Image

Snack: 3/4 of a red pepper cut into slices and 5 whole wheat Ritz crackers with a wedge of Laughing Cow Swiss Cheese. It was the perfect combination of veggies, fat, and carbs to fuel my workout

Image

Dinner: Ryan is a HUGE Pittsburgh Pirates fan, and we have friends here who are Cardinals fans, so since they were playing last night, we met up with a bunch of people for dinner and drinks. Luckily, the place we went to has trivia on Wednesday nights, so we played for the first part of the game. I love trivia! I’m terrible, but I love it. Anyways, I worked out right before dinner, so I was starving. Ryan ordered some parmesan shrimp for us as an appetizer while we were waiting for our friends, and it was delicious. I was nervous about ordering shrimp from a bar type of restaurant, but these did not disappoint! For my entree, I ordered steamed veggies and grilled chicken strips with teriyaki sauce for dipping. Then, my friend ordered a huge thing of onion rings, and I just had to try one. It was a great night with good friends :).

But my dinner brings me to my next point: overindulging guilt. Do any of you feel guilty after a night of unhealthy foods and drinks or do you chalk it up to just a fun night with friends? I feel like I fall in the middle. I eat healthy 80% of the time, and I definitely believe in indulging, especially when I’m having a fun night out with friends. I try to keep my main entree healthy (like grilled chicken strips and veggies) so I can have a few beers and part of an appetizer without feeling like I totally went overboard. But I usually reserve overindulging for the weekend, so part of me felt really yucky waking up this morning after last night’s midweek festivities. Then I remembered how much fun I had and how healthy my meals were earlier in the day. I also remembered how good I felt when I did a higher number of reps than normal at the gym that afternoon. It’s really easy for us to get down on ourselves when we eat poorly or skip a workout, which makes it even easier to quit a healthy lifestyle altogether. But I think the most important thing we can remember is that when we have a bad meal, day, week, etc, all we can do is start fresh the next day. It is never too late to get healthy or stay healthy.

How do you handle overindulging?

Leave a Reply

