Morning Workouts

13 Aug

Happy Tuesday! I did not want to get out of bed this morning. I was so sleepy! But I knew that I would feel better after a workout, so I dragged myself out of bed and into my workout clothes. It used to be light out at 6:20am at the beginning of the summer, but it’s been pretty dark when I walk out of the house to start my run at that time. It looks like fall is creeping up on us! Since I did my long run yesterday morning, I decided to do an interval workout that incorporated squats. I started with five minutes of jogging before starting the intervals. After every running segment I did 10 squats before walking for a minute. The squats after running/sprinting were killer!

Even though it’s only 9:30am, I’m already excited for lunch. Last night I made my favorite salmon recipe for me and Ryan, and I’m excited to share it!

Pistachio Encrusted Salmon

2 filets of salmon

1/2 c. brown sugar

1/2 c. shelled pistachios

Cooking Spray or oil/butter

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Put your salmon on a baking sheet lined with foil and spray them with cooking spray or rub a little bit of butter or oil on them. Put your brown sugar and pistachios in a blender or food processor and blend until the pistachios are chopped. Then, spread the mixture on top of your salmon and bake for 15 minutes or until salmon flakes when you scrape a fork across it.

This salmon is so good! I can’t wait to incorporate it into my lunch today. We paired it with roasted zuchinni and garlic bread (for Ryan). Dessert included toasted coconut ice cream from Kilwin’s :). I hope you’re having a great day!

Question: Do you like working out in the morning? Why or why not?

Leave a comment