Thing’s I’m Lovin’ Right Now

9 Aug

This list is comprised of my favorite things at the moment…mostly healthy food and beverages but also completely random. Enjoy :).

1. Justin’s All-Natural Honey Peanut Butter –> http://www.justins.com/

This stuff is the jam. I love that the ingredient list is short and understandable, and it tastes like real peanut butter. I’ve compared it to a ton of other natural brands, and it always comes out on top.

2. Starbucks Refreshers

Image

I am currently drinking one as I type! The iced Refreshers come in Lime, Berry (my favorite), and Orange. They are delicious, and for a Venti (my choice of size for these babies) they only have about 90-100 calories depending on which one you choose. I know these can’t be considered healthy, but they are way better than some of the other stuff you can get at Starbucks!

3. Carba-nada Fettucine –> http://www6.netrition.com/carba_nada_pasta.html

This all-natural pasta has less carbs than normal pasta and 12g of protein per serving. Less carbs + more protein = the best pasta on the planet. And it’s delicious.

4. Almond Breeze Unsweetened Almond Coconut Milk

I LOVE this milk. It definitely takes some getting used to, but it’s delicious. I stopped drinking dairy a year or two ago for a number of reasons. I don’t think anyone needs dairy. We are the only species of mammal that continues to drink milk after infancy AND that comes from another species. I definitely agree that milk is a great source of vitamins and minerals, but I think that a healthy diet makes up for not drinking milk. Plus, a lot of milk substitutes like almond milk have the same vitamins/minerals. Lastly, I struggled with breakouts on my face all through high school and into college, and once I substituted almond milk for regular milk, my face started to look 10x better. Just my opinion!

5. Kraft Olive Oil Mayonnaise

I know this is a weird thing to love, but stay with me. I am a mayo gal 100%. Miracle Whip freaks me out (no offense to my MW lovers). But not only is this mayo reduced fat, but it is made out of olive oil which cuts out the saturated and trans fats. I’m not saying that this is the best mayo out there for you by any means, I’m just saying that it still has a great taste and is better for you than the regular stuff.

6. CocoaVia Unsweetened Dark Chocolate –> http://www.cocoavia.com/

I actually received this in a Klutchclub Box (www.klutchclub.com) and had no idea what to do with it at first. But after I read about all of its benefits, like improving your circulatory system which supports cardiovascular health, I was determined to start using it. The cocoa comes in separate packets and each packet is 30 calories. I have started using them in my smoothies and oatmeal, and it is so good without being bitter like normal cocoa powder. I have a serious sweet tooth so anytime I can incorporate healthy chocolate into a recipe, I’m happy!

7. Klutchclub Boxes –> http://www.klutchclub.com/

If you’re wondering what I was talking about in #6, here it is. I discovered Klutchclub through a Living Social offer, and I am hooked. They are basically Birch Boxes except they are full of health and wellness items. You can just buy one box to see if you like it, or you can subscribe to receive one every month. I love looking for that box in the mail every month, and it introduces me to a lot of products I would have never known about!

8. Pumpkin

Again, another weird thing to love, but this veggie has recently found its way into my heart. I never really thought of pumpkin as a vegetable because the only time I ate it was at Thanksgiving…in the form of dessert. But I read an article about the benefits of pumpkin and realized that it is a low-calorie way to get a lot of vitamins I need. Pumpkin is an awesome source of fiber to help you maintain a healthy weight, it contains beta-carotene that can reduce your risk of cancer, and it also has more potassium than bananas which can refuel you after a workout! I’ve started putting pumpkin in my oatmeal in the morning or in a smoothie (you can’t taste it!). Don’t knock it ’til you try it!

9. Piloxing

This is a workout class I do on Friday afternoons at my gym, and I LOVE it. I always kind of stuck my nose up to group exercise cardio classes because I never thought I got that good of a workout in, but after taking piloxing I totally take that back. It is a mix of kickboxing, pilates, and dance, and it is super challenging, but everytime I look at myself in the mirror during a class I realize that I have the biggest smile on my face. I’m sure everyone me thinks I’m a total goofball, but I can’t help it. The music is fast and energizing, and the class forces me to work on my balance and core along with doing cardio. If your gym offers Piloxing, you should definitely try it!!

10. Blogging

It’s only been a whole 24 hours, but I can already tell I’m going to like this whole blogging thing. Even though I’m pretty sure I have 0 readers right now, it’s fun to write about what I want, and it serves as an outlet for me. If you are a first-time reader, and you are reading this, I hope you come back :).

Leave a Reply

