…Now I Feel Silly

9 Aug

It has been less than 24 hours since I started my blog, and I already feel silly. I read my favorite blogs this morning and immediately thought “Oh wow, my blog is never going to be like that.” Followed by “What the HECK was I thinking?!”

But the way I look at it, I have two choices. I can either let feeling silly cause me to quit, or I can keep going and do something that makes me happy. I choose the latter :-). SO, I shall keep chugging along!

I woke up this morning completely confused as to how it could already be 6:30am. I was so tired and secretly thankful that I workout in the afternoons on Friday instead of the morning. (sidenote: I run Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday mornings and take exercise classes in the afternoon on Wednesday and Friday for cross-training purposes.) In fact, I am pretty confident that the only thing that got me out of bed this morning (other than that pesky work thing) is my puppy Lily. I have serious doggy guilt as a first time doggy mama. If I don’t walk her every day in the morning, on my lunch break, and after work, I feel terrible. I mean, how can you resist this face?

Image

So, I rolled out of bed and leashed her up for a quick 1.5 mile walk. There’s something about walking/running outside in the morning before everyone else is up that makes me feel peaceful. It’s so quiet and calm, and I like to use it to think about the upcoming day and what I need to get done. How adult of me, right?! But then, inevitably, the calmness is always broken by this:

Image

Nothing makes Lily happier than finding a stick bigger than her body to drag around. This used to annoy me, but now it makes me laugh, and I let her do it for as long as she can carry it. I’m sure everyone in our neighborhood thinks we’re insane, but oh well. They’re just lucky I can even muster a smile that early.

After our short walk I came home ready for breakfast. Growing up, I was strictly a cereal only person. I would eat the biggest bowls of cereal before school and then wonder why I was hungry two hours later. It wasn’t until a year ago (sadly) that I realized that my breakfast had zero protein. I was just eating an absurd amount of carbs and sugar in hope that it would keep me full until noon. Now, I’m a huge fan of eating peanut butter in the morning, especially in oatmeal. After reading the blog Peanut Butter Fingers (Hi, Julie!), I decided to try flax hot cereal for a different spin on oatmeal. I ordered Sensato Hot Fiber Cereal from Netrition.com (http://www.netrition.com/sensato_high_fiber_hot_cereal.html) and was SO excited when I got it. At first, I couldn’t get used to the fine, grainy texture after eating oatmeal for so long, but I really liked the flavor. Now, I mix it in with some oats and peanut butter, and it’s become one of my favorite breakfasts! Paired with a banana, it was a perfect Friday morning breakfast.

Now, I’m at work and excited for the weekend. I think Ryan and I are going to a baseball game tonight since the weather is so nice. I don’t know what it is about drinking beers at a baseball game, but it just screams summer to me. I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

